After you have been charged with a crime, it can be extremely difficult to deal with alone. Your biggest worry may be finding a criminal defense lawyer who is experienced enough to achieve a favorable outcome. It can be difficult to find a skilled Florida criminal defense lawyer within your budget, especially if your case is complex. An experienced criminal defense attorney in West Palm Beach, FL, can vary in price.
The most concerning aspect of hiring a lawyer is how much it can cost, but the price of a Florida criminal defense lawyer is not uniform. Lawyers charge different fees for each of their clients, and these fees are dependent on several factors. The most effective way to determine how much a lawyer will cost is by consulting with one and discussing possible fees.
Criminal defense attorneys can charge for their services in three ways: hourly rate, flat fee, or retainer.
Many factors can influence the rate an attorney charges, including both their qualifications and the details of your case. To anticipate the costs of your specific case, review the following factors:
A: The hourly charge for a criminal defense attorney in Florida varies widely based on several factors, including the attorney’s experience and the details of your case. You can expect to pay approximately anywhere between $100 per hour to $500 per hour, or more in some cases. You should discuss all fees with an attorney during your initial meeting to be sure of what you are expected to pay.
A: There are several excuses and justifications a defendant can use to eliminate liability. These include insanity, coercion, intoxication, defense of self or others, diminished capacity, and many others.
Excuse defenses usually focus on aspects that could diminish a defendant’s moral fault, while justification defenses prove that the person’s actions were justified because of the situation they were in. These defenses do not always work. Their success is dependent on case details and jurisdiction laws.
A: The mistake of fact defense is used to argue that a defendant didn’t mean to commit a crime because they believed something to be true or misunderstood something, which led to the crime being committed. In order for this defense to be used, a reasonable belief must invalidate the crime. An example would be if someone took another person’s property by mistake because they believed it belonged to them.
A: Simple assault is the lowest possible charge of assault. Simple assault is usually classified as a misdemeanor and does not always have to involve physical contact. In order for an act to be considered simple assault, there only needs to be intent to make someone reasonably afraid for their life or afraid they will be harmed physically.
If you have been charged with a criminal offense and are in need of a criminal defense attorney, contact the Law Offices of Nellie L. King. Our dedicated team can inform you of how much time and effort your case may need and, therefore, how much it may cost. To pursue a positive case outcome, you need a strong legal team behind you.